Have We Met?

IMG_0418_2

This post is sort of like that first day of classes when your teacher asks you to stand up in front of everyone and introduce yourself with your name and some fact about you that nobody else will ever remember. Year after year, I would slide out of my seat and rattle off my information with Cady Herron-level awkwardness, saying things like, “My name is Cicely and I’m an only child,” or “I’m Cicely, and I moved here from Missouri.” Then everyone would respond with an uninterested, “Oh, really?” and  we would move on. Then, after a few months of casual conversation with the student in the desk next to me, they might pick up on some aspect of my personality that wasn’t revealed at the beginning of the year, and decide to start waving to me in the hallways. And before long, we would be spending bus rides home becoming friends. But no matter what quirky detail about myself I revealed on the first day, it took a little time for them to really get to know me.

I said all of that to say, as much as I would like to make you understand me in this post alone, I know that you’ll only begin to figure me out the more posts of these I make. In a nutshell, I’m a college student, with interests in journalism, marketing and all things media. In the past, I’ve been a Style Guru Intern with CollegeFashionista.com, where I got to write about street-style on a weekly basis. I just finished an internship with a magazine in my college town, and am currently interning with a marketing and PR company. I also will be hosting my own radio show in the fall, and I’m the Editor-in-Chief of an on-campus magazine. I love making people smile, learning about others, listening to a good song for the first time, screaming at the top of my lungs (say, in the movie theater during a scary movie or at the top of a rollercoaster), singing in the shower, Mediterranean-inspired food, sweet tea mixed with lemonade, and watching ill-advised amounts of television.

When it comes to fashion, (because this is supposed to be a fashion blog) if I had to describe my style in a few words, I’d call it simple, classic, sometimes grungy, thrifted, and ever-changing. I love rocking a good pair of jeans, a white t-shirt and a military jacket. But I’m trying to incorporate some more feminine pieces into my wardrobe. I fall in love with menswear on a daily basis. I’m not huge on heels, but I admire women strong enough to be. I mostly shop (or window-shop) at the usual stores, like Target, Forever 21 and H&M; I may occasionally splurge on an Asos, Dorothy Perkins or Urban Outfitters, but I pride myself on spending no more than $20 on any individual item. I live for the clearance rack, and I have an excellent relationship with thrift stores and Goodwills. (I know it sounds cliche, but I’m a college student so it’s real life for me.) I am plus-sized, which is a huge part of my fashion sense, I believe, because it forces me to think differently about everything I wear. And while I truly wish that I was a few sizes smaller (which is something I’ll probably get into a little later), it has forced me to learn to love myself in spite of a lot of factors.

One of my biggest pet-peeves when it comes to fashion is when people cram a bunch of Tumblr-made trends into one look without any touch of originality or personal style. If I see someone in a skull cap with profanity embroidered on it, a hooped nose ring, bleach blonde ombre’d hair, a black tank, deep purple lipstick, inch-thick eyebrows, an army-fatigued jacket, two gold chains, pointed acrylic nails, a pair of high waisted shorts, thigh-high black socks, and Jeffrey Campbell Litas on, I cry a little bit inside. I think there’s nothing wrong with adding bits and pieces of what you see on the red carpets and on your dashboard and on television and Instagram and around campus into your daily wardrobe, but I just feel like you can tell when somebody is forcing it. My style icons would probably include Olivia Pope (or Kerry Washington’s character on Scandal for those of you living under a rock), Michelle Obama, Solange Knowles, Vashtie Kola and Janelle Monae. I admire so many other fashion bloggers, but a few of my favorite blogs include Meek-N-Mild, Faintly MasculineClothes Encounters, Franceta Johnson, GABIFRESH, Moments of Style and Gal Meets Glam.

I agree with the old adage, “Dress for the job you want.” I love a good pair of sweatpants and baseball cap, but I once heard someone say about personal style, “You never know when you’ll run into your future boss, or business partner, or mentor.” My ambitions are always changing and evolving. Hopefully, my style will be able to evolve with this blog, and I’ll become the fashionista I’ve always wanted to be. And hopefully, you all will enjoy the journey as much as I do.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

