My Favorites: Resort ’14 Collection

I want to preface this post by saying that I rarely ever follow runway shows. I know admitting that is a crime against the fashion community (and might make my fashion blog seem a little less credible a source for fashion inspiration), but I figure it’s better to be honest about it than pretend that all I read is Vogue and Redbook and that I lean on Karl Lagerfeld’s every whim. I am just more moved by random street style, Youtubers and random magazine spreads than what’s turning the catwalk most of the time. I do, however, find some runway looks especially exciting, which is why I want to devote at least a portion of this blog to them. And I’m hoping that doing so forces me to pay more attention to Fashion Weeks around the world.

All of that said, I scanned some of the most recent Resort 2014 runway collections, and found a few looks I was really impressed with. So I thought I would share them with you. In order to make this post as concise as possible (because I know I’m a bit long-winded), I’ve compiled the looks I liked into GIFs, which I’ll list below, along with a line or two about why I like them. I’m going to post about Resort ’14 in installments because there are just so many collections. So here’s the first piece.

Clover Canyon by Rozae Nichols

inNCZ2 on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

My favorite aspects of this Clover Canyon collection are the hypnotizing, kaleidoscopic patterns and vibrant, enticing colors. They catch the eye without trying too hard, which is something I think fashion should do. These pieces could be rocked with one another at some red carpet event, or separately during an everyday appearance; they translate extremely well without losing their originality and essence. And, to top things off, the looks are a stunning combination of menswear and femininity. This might be my favorite collection this season.

Christian Dior by Raf Simmons

1Zdt7T on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

What I loved most about this collection (or rather, what I understood most) was the simplicity. There were crisp colors, geometric designs and muted motifs throughout. This was another range that I could see being worn in a variety of settings, from a year-end gala to a garden party to a day date. There were a few styles I wasn’t crazy about, like the high-neck, lace bandeau undergarments. But overall, I thumbs-upped more than I thumbs-downed.

Moschino by Francesca Rubino and Rossella Jardini

E8IdCz on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

While I’m usually not hugely inspired by 1960s and 1970s style, I really love the flower-child motif in Moschino Cheap and Chic’s collection. The floral detailing coupled with the slightly grungy elements tell an interesting, sort of good-girl-gone-bad story, which I love. But the hint of grunge doesn’t make the collection any less clean and polished, which makes it even edgier. This is what it would look like if (forgive my Gossip Girl reference) Blair Waldorf and Vanessa Abrams did a clothing swap (in ’71).

Oscar De La Renta by Oscar De La Renta 

R9szQN on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

What drew me into this collection was the absolutely stunning blue gown, which would pair beautifully with a deep brown skin tone (think Mindy Kaling or Kerry Washington or .. well, moi!) on some movie premiere’s red carpet. The royal color is gorgeous, along with the feminine silhouette and Rorschach-esque pattern. Then, I fell in love with the birdcage-style cutout top and the peplum pantsuit and navy blue jacket (or is it a sweater? or a blouse, maybe?), perfect for interns and CEOs alike.

DKNY by Donna Karan
RMxJgG on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

Donna has done it with this collection. It’s full of androgyny and sexiness, but without being boring or overdone. Instead of just your everyday jacket-and-slacks combination, she pairs track pants with pointed-toe heels and a collared shirt with a gold metallic zip-up hoodie and a black blazer. And even the dresses have an edge to them, with asymmetrical hemlines, beaded collars and matching jackets.

One comment

Leave a Reply

