Grown Woman

I am pleased to announce that over the weekend, I celebrated my 21st birthday! While I wasn’t able to rock the same gorgeous Kenzo romper the Queen Bey has been rocking on tour, I wanted to share with you what I wore. I wish I had taken more photos of my outfits in full, but I was too busy having the time of my life! I decided to go a different route from the usual productions people tend to do for the big 2-1. Since I’m six hours away from my hometown, but only two hours away from where most of my family lives, I decided to meet my folks halfway for a nice birthday dinner at The Cheesecake Factory. After the year I’ve had, I thought it was important to commemorate the new one with the people who have held me down (literally) since day one. I wore a classic woven button-up from Forever 21 (the same one I’d worn to the office earlier that day) and a pair of Forever 21 jeans, with my favorite Target sandals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After my wonderful dinner, I spent the night with my family, and in the morning, we headed out to get my license renewed. (Finally, it faces horizontally!) The town we drove to in order to do that was actually the same town where my parents went to college, so we ended up exploring their old stomping grounds for a few hours. Then we headed to the mall to do a little shopping. It was there that I found my outfit for the evening. I traveled back to school, and got ready to have dinner with my friends at a rooftop restaurant. My phone died, so I really wasn’t able to take a lot of pictures, but I had an amazing time. I ordered some drink called the Flying Dragon, which had Bacardi in it, but cost $6.50! (My bank account was not equipped for this new lifestyle, haha.) I followed that up with an Amaretto Sour, so my bill was hefty. But you only turn 21 once, right?

Anyway, to dinner, I wore a cobalt blue H&M midi dress. (I’m not sure, but it might have been a maxi dress on someone shorter.) I paired the dress with my thrifted Levi denim jacket and a pair of black, H&M lace-up, birdcage wedges. I topped off the outfit with a silver collared necklace and a few silver rings, all from H&M. After dinner, I went to a local bar and had a few shots on my friends (and the bartender), and then we headed back to my girls’ house and danced around to classic songs on Vine all night. (We made over fifty Vines in one hour!)

I really couldn’t have asked for a better birthday. This one will go down in the record books for sure!

Leave a Reply

