Back In Session

It’s that time of year again, when we trade in our beach towels for backpacks and our leftover summer plans get tucked under alarm clocks until Spring Break. The back-to-schoool season is upon us, and there’s nothing we can do about it. Well, there is one thing. I find that one way to cushion the blow of fifteen (or more) credit hours is to have something fly to wear to each and every one of them.

Now I love a snooze button just as much as the next girl. So for me, getting dressed in the morning is about looking like I wore everything on purpose, even if I did crawl through my room in the dark to get dressed. For that reason, accessories are my friend. My roll-out-of-bed uniform is usually a white or gray t-shirt, a pair of jeans or black leggings, boots or sneakers and a denim or military jacket. And since most days, I’m rolling out of  bed a little later than I should be, adding some accessories can keep me from wearing the same thing over and over again.

The way I see it, the regular top-and-bottoms combination is sort of like the core class schedule. Necessary, no frills, and not too much room for improvisation (especially when the shuttle is five minutes away and I don’t know where my shoes are). They’re an important part of the school year, but they’re not the only part. The accessories are like the extra-curricular activities. These are the clubs that you form a family bond with, the community service hours that you complete, the executive boards that you reside on. These are the parts of your experience that allow you to be creative, to explore, and to be fulfilled. So here are some of my favorite extra-curricular accessories this season.

Extra-Curricular Activities

Leave a Reply

