My Favorites: #NYFW

There are three kinds of people when it comes to New York Fashion Week: those who are there, and those who wish they were. While I unfortunately fall into the latter group, I enjoy viewing the looks that come down the runway. Much like I did during Resort season, I’ll be sharing my favorite collections with you here. Let me know what you think in the polls or in the comments! Here’s my first batch.

Rachel Roy  by Rachel Roy 

Rachel Roy RTW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

As I thumbed through this collection, I found myself saying continually, “Yes, Rachel! Yes!” The kaleidoscopic patterns and vibrant tangerine color drew in my eye. And I loved how she softened up the sexy looks, but still kept them edgy. There was something here for everyone: the daring businesswoman, the sultry night owl, the cozy student and the sporty fashionista. (And I loved that she wasn’t afraid to adorn the model’s ears!)

Lisa Perry by Lisa Perry

Lisa Perry RTW 14 on Make A Gif

One thing I loved about this collection was its guts. Set against a tennis-themed backdrop, the looks reflected all of the triumphs and defeats of the U.S. Open. With geometrical and traditional thigh-high slits, daring cutouts and trendy footwear, I felt like I was definitely interested. While I don’t know that everything would transfer seamlessly into closets, it took risks, which is what fashion is all about, right?

BCBG Max Azria by Max & Lubov Azria

 BCBG RTW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

While watching E! News on Friday, I was able to catch a sneak peak of these looks, and was pleased with the pieces I saw, and the full runway show did not disappoint. Lubov described the ideal wearer of this collection as “effortless” and I think it shows. The relaxed and frilly hemlines and soft, neutral shades of the shirtdresses are something I want for my own stash, and even the buttoned-up looks were light and airy. My favorite was the mesh-paneled dress. The bold colors and interesting details reminded me of something I’d see on Solange Knowles at a gallery opening or Kourtney Kardashian at a dinner party.

Tanya Taylor by Tanya Taylor

Tanya Taylor RTW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

Tanya Taylor’s collection incorporates some of my favorite things: flat shoes, patterned separates and stripes! I love her take on the typical nautical stripe, by adding a panel of bright colors to the skirt.  I would love to rock the white and (I believe it’s) chambray bomber jacket on a windy day. The white, embellished organza zip-up is adorable as well, without being boring. And I think the abstract floral printed skirt and shirt work wonderfully together, but could easily be worn apart. If I read correctly, this is her first runway show, and she’s done an excellent job.

Whit by Whitney Pozgay

Whit RTW Spring 2014 on Make A Gif

This assortment from Whitney Pozgay is, in a word, necessary! I want every piece of the collection in my wardrobe in one way or another. It was difficult for me to narrow down my visuals to just four photos, but I think these are the most me. The mixed prints of the blazer and shorts, combined with the vibrant magenta top would be perfect for a graduation party, while the contrasting stripes in the dress would translate well in the office. I could see the floral jumpsuit at a summer concert, and the possibilities for the shirtdress are endless! Gimme!

Leave a Reply

