My Favorites: #NYFW (Continued)

There is so much going on with Fashion Week, that it’s almost hard for me to keep up with all of the shows! Still, I press on. Here’s the latest installment in my collection of favorite looks.

Mara Hoffman by Mara Hoffman

Mara Hoffman NYFW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

Mara has almost always had a thing for bold motifs and bright colors, so the themes in this collection were no surprise. What was exciting was how she managed to interweave that recurring theme with gorgeous art-deco-inspired patterns. I suppose there is some similarity between the two patterns, but I admire how she was able to combine them, and still allow you to see both of them clearly. These are pieces that would transition seamlessly from spring to summer, and with some creativity, even to fall. Put simply, this is a collection that I can’t wait to wear (or at least to see someone else much richer than me wearing)!

Christian Siriano by Christian Siriano

Christian Siriano NYFW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

Although I’m no designer connoisseur, I’ve been following Christian Siriano’s work since Project Runway. I’m incredibly proud of the pieces he’s produced, the silhouettes he’s introduced and the colors he’s played with. He’s a man after my own heart. This collection might be one of my favorites. The embellished crop top and peachy minidress are flirty, but still flowy and comfortable. The white, mesh-paneled, collared gown is stunning and wearable. And the yellow pants-suit with the long train dares you to comment. (I’ll admit, some of the looks in this collection were not my favorite, mostly because they reminded me of this Psoriasis medication commercial that I hate, but for the most part I was pleased.)

Monique Lhuillier by Monique Lhuillier

Monique Lhuillier NYFW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

Monique Lhuillier is quoted as saying, “Women have busy lives. Their clothes need to be real.” And that’s exactly what I see in this collection. The song “I’m Every Woman” comes to mind. The white midi dress with shoulder embellishments is calm and conservative. The strapless jumpsuit is practical, but sassy. I get a fun-loving vibe from the pink and orange ensemble, and the gradient red number is smooth and smoldering. I am anxious to see which celebs will be rocking these looks on the red carpets. (I’m thinking Anne Hathaway, Jessica Alba, Solange Knowles and Sofia Vergara, respectively.)

Tracy Reese by Tracy Reese

Tracy Reese NYFW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

Tracy Reese is probably best known for being the mastermind behind some of Mother Michelle’s most iconic outfits. But with this collection, she proves that she can design for more than just the White House. While this blue, damask-themed gown still reads FLOTUS, her other looks are a bit more playful, young and relaxed. (Maybe more fitting for Barry & Mimi’s date nights? We’ll never know!) The white two piece set and the black, shimmery dress are sexy, but not overstated. And the printed blouse, skirt and backpack look like something I could wear to class. While I don’t quite understand it, I also love her use of temporary tattoos!

Diane von Furstenburg by Diane von Furstenburg

DVF NYFW Spring 14 on Make A Gif

The DVF show was, in a nutshell, everything. Scene-stealing prints, Pride Rock-themed pieces, smiling models (including my girls Joan Smalls and Jourdan Dunn) and the legendary Naomi Campbell closing the show. Her black and gold minidress showed off her still-stunning legs, and looked gorgeous against her rich skin tone. And the all gold ensemble was, thankfully, nothing like Trinidad James’ song. The red strapless dress was breathtaking, but still warm and wearable, and the vibrant cobalt, brick red and golden yellow tones in the skirt and shirt were fun and enticing.

What did you think of these collections? I want to hear from you in the comments! And let me know which one you liked most!

Leave a Reply

