My Favorites: #NYFW (Cont.)

3.1 Phillip Lim by Phillip Lim

ME60Qj on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

I’m a long time Phillip Lim fan, and his name has been especially abuzz lately, because of his upcoming Target campaign (which I am extremely excited about). His collection for Spring/Summer 2014 looks completely different from the pieces heading to stores on Saturday, though. It’s mineral-inspired, sweet and strong. The iridescent hues are exciting and vibrant, but still cool. And each look would transition from the office to the club seamlessly.

Opening Ceremony by Humberto Leon & Carol Lim

IMx93d on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

This was the first runway show for popular brand Opening Ceremony, and I was very impressed. The striking chevron, sunburst and floral prints are attention grabbing and the vibrant reds and electric blues are the perfect accent pieces to any spring basics. Although I’m usually not crazy about bermuda shorts, I think these work well. What I like most is that each piece could work on its own just as well as it works with its runway counterpart, and that each piece has the ability to be dressed up or down.

J.Crew by Tom Mora

is6IJK on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

This was yet another collection I had trouble narrowing down. The prints are abstract and tribal and colorful, which it seems will be all we need for the Spring/Summer season. I can’t get enough of the patterned separates, and neither can they. And the silhouettes are sexy, yet muted and relaxed, which I love. And the black dress, I wouldn’t normally be into, but for some reason I love the way it looks. It’s a lively, fun collection that I’m sure will be flying off the shelves come spring.

Tory Burch by Tory Burch

LTXpOv on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

Tory Burch seems to have drawn her  inspiration from the 1960s and 1970s. The collection gave off a mod vibe that I love. I’m really into that time period right now, myself. So these pieces were some of my favorites. But while the colors of that era tend to appear a little washed out, she chose to balance the greens and oranges with bright silver, to keep us fixated. She also adorned many of the pieces in gorgeous beading at the collar, which adds emphasis to just the right place.

Maki Oh by Maki Oh
AGFkxl on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

I had been on the lookout for this line since I heard about the up-and-coming designer. And while there were certainly some things that confused me (i.e. the hats, the dark cast on the models’ necks), I was overall happy with her collection. I love the bright and bold prints, and the silky fabrics she used. I also love the way she employed the sporty trend we’ve been seeing lately in a way that only she could, by making jersey numbers out of intricate, geometric beads. I’m excited to see more from Maki Oh.

Leave a Reply

