My Favorites: #NYFW (Cont.)

Alright. I’m going to try and squeeze my remaining favorites from Mercedes Benz Fashion Week into this post. Keep in mind that there were literally thousands of looks circling the catwalks, and I certainly didn’t have time to view and write about all of them. So, I’m sure there were some great ones that I missed. (If you saw some, please let me know in the comments! I’d love to take a look!) Enjoy!

Mark McNairy New Amsterdam by Mark McNairy

Mark McNairy on Make A Gif

What I loved most about this collection from Mark McNairy is that it was so collegiate. And, while that word usually connotes sartorial, The Black Ivy-style ensembles (of which there were plenty of), it also applies to the athlete, the frat boy and even the girlfriend, as seen in this show. In the bright blue printed suit, white lace-ups and fedora, I saw the Pharrell-inspired Textile & Apparel Management student. In the yellow varsity jacket and Adidas shorts, I saw the student athlete or the stylish Greektown resident. The purple blazer, metallic boots and black shorts read like the performance uniform of a refined Omega man; while the plaid shorts, thick socks and tank top looked like the perfect attire for tip-toeing back to a dorm room the morning after.

Rebecca Minkoff by Rebecca Minkoff

Rebecca Minkoff on Make A Gif

To me, this collection has something for every kind of fashionista. The sporty, yet sassy stylist might pair this yellow, jersey-inspired dress with a pair of strappy heels for a night out. I could see the floral blouse and jacket and woven shorts on the more buttoned-up blogger. This southwestern moto jacket and thigh-high sandals look like they would be a staple in the traveling fashion addict’s closet. And for the vintage-loving, girly stylista, I can see the mint green, lazer-cut lacy dress.

Nanette Lepore by Nanette Lepore

Nanette Lepore on Make A Gif

This collection from Nanette Lepore is, in my opinion, the quintessential spring line. It’s light and airy, but also features bright colors and daring designs. The blue-embroidered sheer blouse gives off the right amount of strength, without being too showy, and would look perfect tucked into, or sitting on top of, a solid midi skirt. The red pantsuit and mesh shirt exude that same strength, but could be tamed for the office with a sweater or scarf. The red top with skirted sleeves and striped bottoms are fun and frilly; and the printed dress is effortlessly pretty and refreshing.

Clover Canyon by Rozae Nichols

Clover Canyon on Make A Gif

Designer Rozae Nichols loves using picturesque prints, and this collection looks like it belongs in a museum. The romantic, abstract and colorful pieces combined with the way the models stood, displaying the clothing, really reminded me of an art exhibit. But, that doesn’t mean the looks aren’t wearable. I could see each look just as much on the red carpet, at a party, on vacation or in a meeting. This collection makes a statement, and thankfully, it isn’t, “Do not touch.”

Ralph Lauren by Ralph Lauren

Ralph Lauren on Make A Gif

It’s clear that legend Ralph Lauren went mod for Spring/Summer 2014. But I also got a different vibe from the collection. Many of the looks reminded me of Cher Horowitz, of Clueless. There were bright colored dresses with matching handbags; preppy pairings of sweaters, ties, Mary Janes, skirts and jackets; and a stunning, strapless blue gown that Karlie Kloss rocked like a pro. I love the ’90s more than any other decade, and I’m glad Ralph Lauren was willing to go back there.

Leave a Reply

