Candy-Coated Raindrops

Autumn is upon us. And the only thing I like more than the night we get to turn our clocks back is the fashion. The difference, though, between fall and winter (although I love them both equally) is that during the former, we’re just trying to bundle up a bit in chilly weather. We’re required to layer our outfits more, which means we have room to improvise with such lovely additives as socks, tights, cardigans, scarves, hats and outerwear. In winter, it’s all about survival. For that reason, I’ve compiled a few of my favorite kinds of jackets and coats for fall. I suggest you stock up on these before it gets too cold. Lucky for me, the sites where I found these pieces had already styled them a bit, so you and I both have a great vantage point to begin putting outfits together from.

CandyCoatedRaindropsThe first piece, a black cotton parka from Asos, really comes alive in the details. The faux fur-lined hood is cute and cozy for especially windy days, and the zip and toggle closures add warmth and security. I also love that the back hemline dips slightly, because there’s nothing worse than wearing a jacket and still having a cold lower back. (Trust me!) I would probably wear this over a thrifted sweater or an open cardigan, jeans and combat boots.

The second item featured is a military-inspired jacket with contrasting sweatshirt-like sleeves and studs, from Forever 21. What’s great about it is that it straddles the line between comfy and structured. And it has a hood. I could see myself throwing this on with a crewneck sweatshirt, leggings and boots, for a casual every day look. Or, if I was feeling particularly chill, I’d wear it with some speckled sweats, Converses and a graphic t-shirt.

I immediately fell in love with this third coat, but in the bright green color featured on the Asos site. (For some reason, Polyvore was just not having it, so I went with the black.) This is a fit-and-flare toggle coat with, yet again, a hood. Apparently, warm ears are going to be a priority for me this fall. And the silhouette is definitely on trend. I picture this piece with a pair of jeans, a patterned scarf, a simple long-sleeved top and riding boots or steel-toed booties. (It seems Asos agrees.)

While this version doesn’t compare to the iconic white coat that Olivia Pope wears while stomping her heels through Washington, I do think this trench, from Target, is a must-have this season. It’s sophisticated, it’s classic and it’s simple. If I were headed to a job interview or church, this coat would probably have a loose-fitting blouse and chunky jewelry, chinos or slacks and oxfords beneath it. If the event were dressier, I’d go with a midi dress and heels.

The last piece of outerwear is a maroon-paneled varsity jacket. While the jacket immediately reads sporty, athletic styles have taken on a new, sexy feel as of late. I love juxtaposing feminine and tomboyish styles, so I would probably wear this with a pair of high-waisted vintage jeans, a simple top, a bunch of jewelry, some cutout booties and a saucy red lip. I love the heels that Asos put this model in, but let’s be for real. If I wasn’t headed out-out, the heels would be staying in.

Let me know how you might style these pieces! Which is your favorite one? Which would could you live without?

Leave a Reply

