I’m Coming Home Again

This past weekend was my school’s Homecoming, so I had to step it up and step out. (Little Known Fact: My university actually invented Homecoming! MIZ!) My friends and I went out Thursday and Friday night, and we had so much fun!

Our first event was the Legion of Black Collegians Homecoming Ball, a fancy event held at this super chic space. The color scheme at the venue was black and white with hints of color, so I followed suit. I wore this long-sleeved, monochrome, paneled dress with my go-to peep toe wedges (Forever 21, similar). The dress was super tight, but also quite slimming, with exposed zipper detailing all the way down the back (in case I wanted to create a slit). And the sleeves and midi length kept me just warm enough for the chilly weather. I wasn’t really sure about the dress when my mother convinced me to purchase it from Kohl’s (similar), but I actually loved it! I paired the dress with a statement, geometric necklace from H&M (similar), a plain silver watch from Nordstrom (similar) and red lips!

1384195_2536216721928_1315004941_n

My friends were dressed super cute too!

After we left the Ball, we headed out to a local club. It was my first time going to a club since I turned twenty-one (so really, ever), and I had a lot of fun. I wish I had taken a picture of my outfit. (Ah, well. That gives me an excuse to wear it again!) The next night, we went to a regular party. We got to dress down quite a bit, but the party ended up getting shut down because people were fighting. Even though it might have been an outfit wasted, I still thought I’d share what I wore. I started with a black skater dress (similar). I then layered on a cross-printed sweater, which I knotted up in the front (similar). I accessorized with a pair of thigh-high, scrunched up socks and a borrowed pair of black combat boots. And I finished the look with a cobalt blue scarf (similar), tied into a turban, and some purple-ish lipstick (the colors aren’t really showing up as bright). Almost everything was from Forever 21.

hoco2

Excuse my messy room!

All in all, I had a really fun weekend. It didn’t quite turn out as planned. But these things never do. I couldn’t have asked to spend it in better company, or better clothes!

One comment

Leave a Reply

